Scandinavia HouseScandinavia House

Lectures - Scandinavia HouseLectures & Literary Programs @ Scandinavia House

map & directions
Facebook, become a fan
Stay Connected
Facebook, become a fan Twitter, follow us Sound Cloud YouTube, subscribe to our channel

Lectures & Literary Lectures & Literary Programs

For reservations, call 212.847.9740 or email

Upcoming Lectures & Literary Programs

Natural Disaster Risk Reduction:
Achieving Resilience with Nature-Based Solutions, with Lessons from New York City Post-Sandy

Thursday, May 28, 6 pm
Free, but RSVP required to

The world's coastal zones are changing rapidly from climate change, population growth, and coastal development. The combination of these factors is dramatically increasing the risk of catastrophic damage to coastal communities. In 2012 alone, 11 events caused over $60 billion in damages. Over the next 100 years, floods are expected to increase fourfold. After Hurricane Sandy, The Nature Conservancy committed to help New York build back smarter and use nature – wetlands, forests, dunes, mussel beds, oyster reefs, and parks – to help protect us from the impacts of climate change.

Natural Disaster Risk Reduction: Achieving Resilience with Nature-Based Solutions, with Lessons from New York City Post-SandyParticipants include Bill Ulfelder, Executive Director of The Nature Conservancy in New York; Dr. Adam Whelchel, Director of Science, The Nature Conservancy in Connecticut; Sarah Woodhouse Murdock, Director, U.S. Climate Change Adaptation Policy; Joan Leary Matthews, Director of the Clean Water Division, Environmental Protection Agency; William Solecki, Professor and Director, CUNY Institute for Sustainable Cities, Nancy Kete, Managing Director of Rockefeller Foundation’s Program on Resilience and moderated by Kathy B. McLeod, Director of Climate Risk & Resilience at The Nature Conservancy.

Organized by The Nature Conservancy in collaboration with the Royal Norwegian Consulate General in New York.

Mark and Landmark
A Curtis L. Carlson Distinguished Lecture with Craig Dykers

Tuesday, June 9, 6:30 pm
Free, but RSVP required to by Friday, June 5, 2015

Craig Dykers, Founding Partner of Norwegian architectural firm Snøhetta, will speak to the unconventional company's practice of "the architecture of engagement" – a phrase coined by the late Ada Louise Huxtable (The Wall Street Journal, 2010). Using past and current architecture and landscape projects as examples, including the Norwegian National Opera & Ballet (2000-08) and the Times Square Reconstruction (2010-15), Dykers will expound upon Snøhetta's mastery of bringing people together through design. 

This lecture is also a part of the ongoing celebration of the 50th anniversary of Mayor Robert Wagner's signing of New York City's Landmarks Law, which ushered in a new era of historic preservation for the city.

The Curtis L. Carlson Distinguished Lecture series was created by the Carlson Family Foundation to support public discourse on issues and topics of particular relevance to the people of the United States and the Nordic nations.

About Craig Dykers

Craig Dykers is a Founding Partner and the Executive Director of Snøhetta, an international integrated architecture, landscape, interior, branding, and design firm. Since 1989 Dykers has established offices in Norway, Egypt, England, and the U.S. His interest in design as a promoter of social and physical well-being is supported by ongoing observation and development of an innovative design process. As one of the Founding Partners of Snøhetta, he has led many of Snøhetta's prominent projects internationally, including the Alexandria Library in Egypt (1989-2001), the Norwegian National Opera & Ballet in Oslo, Norway (2000-08), the National September 11 Memorial Museum Pavilion in New York City (2004-14), and the recently completed Ryerson University Student Learning Centre in Ontario, Canada (2009-15). Dykers is currently leading the design of the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art Expansion in San Francisco (2010-Expected 2016), the new Times Square Reconstruction in New York City, both of which are currently under construction, as well as Calgary's New Central Library and Library Plaza in Alberta, Canada (2013-Expected 2018).

Dykers' work has led to numerous international awards and recognitions including the Mies van der Rohe European Union Prize for Architecture (2009), the World Architecture Award (2002; 2008), and the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2004), among many others. Published internationally for over 25 years, Dykers has most recently been the subject of an exposé in the January 2013 issue of The New Yorker, while the practice has also been nominated in 2013 by Fast Company Magazine as one of the ten most innovative architecture companies in the world.

Dykers has also served as a Diploma Adjudicator at the Architectural College in Oslo and in recent years has been a Visiting Professor at Syracuse University, Cornell University, Parsons, and Washington University in St. Louis. Dykers has lectured extensively throughout Europe, Asia, and the Americas. He is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Manufacturers, a LEED accredited professional, a member of the American and Norwegian Institutes of Architects, and serves as an advisory trustee to The American-Scandinavian Foundation (ASF).

This lecture is part of the ongoing 50th anniversary celebration of New York City’s Landmarks Law.

Back to top of page