Performing Arts past

SATContemporary Reading Series: Then Silence/Så stillhet

Photo by Tuukka Ervasti Millesgården

MON – 5-6-2013 – 8:00 PM
Pre-reception 7:30 pm

The Scandinavian American Theater Company (SATC) introduces a new generation of Nordic playwrights in a series of

staged readings representing Sweden, Norway, Iceland, Finland, and Denmark, including Greenland and the Faroe Islands.

About SATC

SATC is a collective of theater artists founded to provide Scandinavian perspectives through the new generation of Scandinavian playwrights and theater artists. SATC presents contemporary plays and inventive takes on the classics from the Nordic region, which includes

Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Denmark, Greenland, and the Faroe Islands. SATC is committed to strengthening the relationship between Scandinavia and the United States through collaborations and interdisciplinary artistic exchange that examine and challenge the cultural status quo.

Then Silence/Så stillhet

Written by Arne Lygre (Norway, 2008) and directed by Sebastian Nyman Agdur (Sweden). This thought-provoking drama

exposes the downfalls of the human race through ten scenes. We see behind the terrible lies in a break-up; the torture in an interrogation; and a battle of life and death, man versus man, while the ocean is rising…

About the playwright

Arne Lygre (b. 1968, Bergen, Norway) is a novelist and playwright. He made his debut in 1998 with the play Mother and Me and Men/Mamma og meg og menn. Since then he has written six other plays, which have been staged and published in countries around the world. Man without Purpose/Mann uten hensikt (2005) was directed by Claude Régy at Odeon Théâtre in Paris in 2007-08. His play I Disappear/Jeg forsvinner had its world premiere at La Colline Théâtre National in November 2011, directed by Stéphane Braunschweig.

In 2004 Lygre wrote In Time/Tid inne, his first collection of short stories, which received the Brage Prize, the prestigious Norwegian literary award. He has also written two novels, A Last Face/Et siste ansikt (2006) and My Dead Man/Min døde mann (2009), which were both highly regarded by critics. In 2010 he was awarded the Mads Wiels Nygaards’ Legacy Literary Award.