Exhibitions past

50 Years of the Nordic Council Literature Prize

2-27-2012 THROUGH 4-7-2012
50 Years of the Nordic Council Literature Prize

MON—2-27-2012 THROUGH SAT—4-7-2012
Victor Borge Hall Lobby

The year 2012 marks the 50th anniversary of the Nordic Council Literature Prize, the highest honor awarded for a work of fiction produced in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden as well as Greenland, the Faroe Islands, Åland Islands, and Sámi language areas. A beacon of cooperation between the Nordic countries, the prize is awarded annually to a novel, play or collection of poetry, short stories or essays that meets high literary and artistic standards.

The exhibition profiles prize winners of the past 50 years—including Tomas Tranströmer, Per Petterson, Naja Marie Aidt, Sjón, Jan Kjærstad, and Sofi Oksanen—accompanied by editions of their work.
Organized by the Nordic Council.

The exhibition opened in conjunction with Northern Influences: Americans Look at Great Nordic Writers.