This spring, Swedish pianist Per Tengstrand returns to Scandinavia House for the Music on Park Avenue concert series. Tonight he will be joined by a string quartet from Opus 21, a group of talented musicians from Princeton University, for performances of works by Mozart and Brahms.

Performers include Hana Mundiya and Haeun Jung on violin, Noah Pacis on viola and Leland Ko on cello.

About Per Tengstrand

Per Tengstrand has firmly established himself as one of today’s most exciting pianists. He has been described by The Washington Post as “technically resplendent, powerful, intuitively secure,” and by The New York Times as “a superb Swedish pianist” whose recital “was rewarding, both for its unusual programming and for his eloquent, technically polished performances.”

Tengstrand is the subject of the acclaimed Swedish documentary The Soloist, directed by Magnus Gertten and Stefan Berg (Sweden, 2003), which was featured at the International Festival of Cinema and Technology in New York. In 2005 he was decorated by King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden with the “Litteris et Artibus” Medal for outstanding service to the arts.

Tengstrand’s 2014-15 concert season included performances on both sides of the Atlantic: in Sweden he played Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 18 (1900-01), Johannes Brahms’ Concerto No. 2, Op. 83 (1878-81), and Igor Stravinsky’s Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments (1923-24); and the Tengstrand-Sun Piano Duo performed an adaptation of Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring (1913) before returning to the U.S., where he continues his Music on Park Avenue series at Scandinavia House in New York City. He was recently named artist-in-residence at the new Spira Concert House in Jönköping, Sweden.

About the Performers From Opus 21

Hana Mundiya made her concerto debut with the New York Philharmonic at age 13 at David Geffen Hall in Lincoln Center. A prizewinner in the 9th Leopold Mozart Competition in Augsburg, Germany (2016), winner of the Princeton University Orchestra Competition (2018), and second place winner in the Aspen Music Festival Concerto Competition (2016), Hana has been the Young Artist in Residence for the New York Piano Society and as a result performed with them several times at Carnegie Hall. She has also performed with ThePianoGuys at Perelman Hall at Carnegie Hall and Steven Tyler of Aerosmith, and is a member of the United Nations Chamber Music Society. She is a sophomore at Princeton University majoring in Comparative Literature and pursuing a certificate in Musical Performance in Violin. Her teachers include Naoko Tanaka and Donald Weilerstein, with whom she has been studying since attending The Juilliard School for one year and Juilliard Pre-College.

Haeun Jung is a sophomore at Princeton University concentrating in Molecular Biology and a certificate in Musical Performance in Violin. In high school, she was named National YoungArts Foundation’s Honorable Mention winner and won the Washington state championships for violin solo and chamber music. Her summer experiences include Boston University Tanglewood Institute, Great Mountains Music Festival & School, and the Sarajevo Chamber Music Festival. In the past, she has received lessons from Christian Tetzlaff, Boris Brovtsyn, Clara Jumi-Kang and the Muir String Quartet. Haeun previously studied with Carol Sindell and, at Princeton, she studies with Anna Lim.

Noah Pacis is a freshman at Princeton University, planning on majoring in Chemistry. Raised in Irvine, California, Noah has played the viola for 8 years and has studied most recently under Sorah Myung. He has participated in several orchestras, including the All-National Orchestra, and has played as principal violist of the California All-State Orchestra and Pacific Symphony Youth Orchestra. Noah has also participated in the Hawaii Performing Arts Festival, where he won the 2015 Concerto Competition and studied with violinist Chee-Yun Kim. He spent the past year with Chamber Music OC under Iryna Krechkovsky and Kevin Kwan Loucks of Trio Céleste, and has had masterclasses with Philip Setzer, Robert deMaine, and Julian Martin. In addition to Opus 21, Noah is a member of the Princeton University Orchestra and Princeton Camerata.

Leland Ko, a sophomore at Princeton University, began studying cello at the age of three. Born and raised in the Boston area, he studied with Ronald Lowry for many years at the Rivers School Conservatory. In 2011, he was admitted to the Perlman Music Program (PMP) in 2011, where, for the past six summers, he has studied with Ronald Leonard, teacher at the Colburn Conservatory of Music and former principal of the LA Philharmonic. PMP cultivated a deep love for chamber music for him. Additionally, through PMP, he was introduced Paul Katz, legendary cellist of the Cleveland Quartet, with whom he studied for four years at the New England Conservatory.



Courtesy of Per Tengstrand

THU—April 19—7:30 PM
Pre-concert talk, 7 PM
$25 ($20 ASF Members)