Finnish composer Sampo Haapamäki makes his New York recital debut with a concert of works presenting his chamber music, including Logo for violin and live electronics (2013); Connection for string quartet (2007);

Haljennut for vocalist and string trio (2004); Highway for flute and piano (2002); Wide for clarinet, piano, violin, viola, and cello (2001); and Avenue for alto saxophone and piano (2000).

About Sampo Haapamäk

Sampo Haapamäki (b. 1979, Finland) holds a Masters in Music from the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki and obtained his Ph.D. in Musical Arts from Columbia University in 2012. He took part in an annual composition and music technology course at IRCAM – Centre Pompidou in Paris. Haapamäki composes chamber music, vocal music, electronic music, concertos, and orchestral music. He was the Tapiola Sinfonietta’s Composer-in-Residence for the 2011-12 season.

An international prize-winning composer, Haapamäki has received numerous awards, including the Gaudeamus International Composers Award (2004); the International Society of Contemporary Music – Young Composer Award (2005); and the Teosto Prize (2006).



Photo Courtesy of ensemble mise-en

THU – 2-19-2015 – 8:00 PM
$20 ($15 ASF Members)
Reservations strongly recommended