The Lost Dog New Music Ensemble presents “Nørgård’s America,” highlighting the influence of American music and poetry on the Danish master, including Arcana and Spell, works inspired by American minimalism filtered through Nørgård’s distinctive voice.

The program also features works incorporating the poetry of Walt Whitman—Seadrift, for soprano (Sarah Joy Miller) and Baroque instruments, and Out of the Cradle Endlessly Rocking—as well as an explosive setting of Allen Ginsburg’s Plutonian Ode.

About Nørgård in New York

Discover the music of Per Nørgård, Denmark’s greatest living composer. Queens-based Lost Dog New Music Ensemble presents three illuminating concerts at Scandinavia House that reveal Nørgård’s connections to American music and poetry, his vital contributions to the string quartet repertoire, and the influence of the soundscape of the natural world on his music. Featuring 11 major U.S. premieres, including a rare performance of his ravishing Night-Symphonies, Day Breaks. The series includes performances by guest artists Momenta Quartet, soprano Sarah Joy Miller, and percussionist Neeraj Mehta.

“The festival program for Nørgård in New York is a comprehensive presentation of my music, and I am very grateful for this endeavor. It is difficult not to be both touched and impressed by the work done by the musicians and ensembles involved in presenting my music to audiences in New York.

The works in the program come from different periods of my production, and I hope that my music will open the ears of the New York audience to new melodies and new beginnings.”—Per Nørgård



Image by Janus Langhorn/

THU—6-16-2016—8 PM
Pre-concert talk—7:30 PM
Series pass $45