As part of their 2015 North American Tour, Norwegian a cappella ensemble Røyst Trio visits Scandinavia House this July to inspire New York audiences with their original and playful arrangements of traditional Norwegian folk songs.

Performing original music written and arranged by the members of the group, the trio consists of Kari N. Bleivik, Cecilie Giskemo, and Maria Jardardottir. Each individual’s sound, together with the others, creates a unique vocal texture and varied collection of compositions. The trio’s music represents a contemporary and collective fusion of improvisation and elements drawn from world music, modern jazz, and folk music.

About the Røyst Trio

Since their founding in 2002, Røyst Trio has toured in their native Norway, as well as in England, Germany, Finland, the U.S., Mexico, and Zimbabwe. For ten days in July 2015 the trio will tour New York in the U.S. and Toronto, Ottawa, and Hamilton in Canada. Through their concerts and workshops they endeavor to motivate local communities to start vocal-based ensembles, which demand neither significant technical equipment, nor physical space, nor talent to function as a positive and creative activity in everyday life. Additionally the tour aims to garner interest in acoustic a cappella music and the value that this musical form of composition and performance establishes.

Combined with their international tour agenda, Røyst Trio has continuously placed great emphasis on running workshops for both amateur and professional performers and teachers. Through exploratory and interactive means and concepts, these workshops promote the artistic and cultural value of a cappella music, as well as the spontaneous opportunity humans possess to create music together.

Røyst Trio has also widely collaborated with world-class musicians and composers and participated in leading festivals and projects including the Nynorskfestspela (2005); Ian Ballamy and Thomas Strønen (2007); the Harare International Festival of Arts (2010); Laura Cole (2013); Dave Kane, Andy Wood, Rommi Smith, and Jason Hird (2013); and Matthew Bourne, Joost Hendrix, Simon Beddoe, Seth Bennett, Oliver Dover, and Tom Sidebottom (2013). In 2013 the ensemble qualified as finalists in the Tampere Vocal Ensemble Contest.

In 2005 Røyst Trio independently released Nordic Initiative – their debut album. In November 2014 the trio recorded three pieces that will form an EP to be released summer 2015.



Photo Courtesy of ensemble mise-en

THU – 6-9-2015 – 7:00 PM
$15 ($10 ASF Members)