Canada’s Aventa Ensemble (Bill Linwood, Artistic Director/Conductor) wraps up an exciting 2010/11 season on a high note with an awaited performance at Scandinavia House. Linwood and his 16-piece ensemble have concocted a delicious musical menu, which mixes works by Canadian and Scandinavian composers, including the U.S. premiere of Einstein’s Dreams – May 14, 1905 by Jordan Nobles (CDN), Voluptuous Panic by Paul Frehner (CDN), and KafKapriccio by celebrated Danish composer Poul Ruders. Moreover, Danish harp virtuoso Maria Sørensen joins Aventa in the US premiere of Per Nørgård’s …gennem torne… (…through thorns…), – one of Denmark’s most esteemed composers.

The June 6 performance in New York marks the end of Aventa’s 2011 Spring Tour, which includes concerts in Sweden (Malmö Academy of Music in Malmö – May 29); Denmark (Athelas New Music Festival in Copenhagen – May 30 and June 3) and Germany (A•DEvantgarde-Festival in Munich -June 1).

AventaHailed as “a superb contemporary-music ensemble” (Globe and Mail), Aventa is amongst Canada’s finest musical ambassadors. With a reputation for superb performance and ambitious programming, Aventa has established itself as one of the country’s leading contemporary music ensembles. The group is comprised of musicians who are passionate about new music and its place in our culture. Pushing the boundaries through diverse projects, collaboration and cultural exchange, Aventa challenges the preconceptions of new music.

Founded in 2003, Aventa regularly commissions both Canadian and international new works and has presented over 80 premieres both in Canada and on tour. Upcoming activity for the 2011/12 season includes a composer workshop with British composer Michael Finnissy, a new commission from Sir Peter Maxwell Davies and the world premiere of Gavin Bryars’ opera Marilyn – Anyone can see I love you, based on the life of actress Marilyn Monroe and featuring Faroese vocalist Eivør Pálsdóttir in the title role.



Photo Courtesy of ensemble mise-en

MON – 6-6-2011 – 8:00 PM
$15($10 ASF Members)