Written by Andreas Garfield (Denmark, 2007) & directed by Christoffer Berdal (Denmark). Kim (Brian Smolin), a former Sergeant in the Danish army, and his girlfriend Iben (Lisa Pettersson), an editor of women’s magazines, are preparing a “welcome home” dinner for Carsten (Albert Bendix), Kim’s lifelong friend. Carsten has recently returned from service in Iraq. During the evening, the couple is confronted with a person whose understanding of life has become radically different from theirs. A pleasant reunion becomes a fatal evening where all three characters’ relationships, values, and principles are tested. Inspired by interviews with Danish soldiers, the award-winning Home Sweet Home/Hjem Kære Hjem reveals the traumatic experience of war and the unsympathetic indifference of home as refracted through a Nordic country. 85 min. No intermission.

Home Sweet Home was a sensation in 2007 when it premiered at Teater Grob in Copenhagen, a well-known venue for experimental theater and new work. Since then, Teater Grob has toured the play around Denmark. The year of its debut, playwright Andreas Garfield won the prestigious Talent Prize in the Reumert Awards, Denmark’s equivalent of the Tony Awards. Home Sweet Home was also

nominated in the categories of Best Play and Best Leading Actor and won in the category of Best Supporting Actor. This recognition was exceptional since the playwright was a student at the time. He graduated from the playwrighting division of Aarhus Theatre, Denmark, later that year and his plays have since been produced in theaters all over Denmark and Scandinavia.

The U.S. premiere and English-language debut for Home Sweet Home was at P.S. 122 in November 2010, produced by the Scandinavian American Theater Company (SATC). The English translation is by actress Lisa Pettersson in collaboration with SATC. SATC is an emerging troupe that will be offering New York audiences daring and innovative works from Scandinavia’s burgeoning theater scene.



Photo by Tuukka Ervasti Millesgården

FRI – 9-16-2011 – 8:00 PM
$15 ($12 ASF Members)